More Gun Rhetoric

26 Jan

I was reading an interesting post on a blogsite I follow HERE and responded to one of her posts.  She blogged about gun control and background checks, basically requesting citizenry to enroll or sign up for tighter restriction.  She makes a good argument and you should read her side.  I took a good long while composing my side and thought, well, why not make it my post for today?  So here it is:

This is indeed sad and I would say, coming so soon after the Moscow tragedy, very saddening. That some idiot would take it upon themselves to run into a police station and open fire says they had a death wish or some sort of vendetta. It’s possible that conviction of a family member could create such animosity, but surely, one would understand that shooting at a police officer will get you shot. And surely this person would understand beyond that if he opened fire multiple times on an entire police station, that several police officers would shoot back, and that several gunshot wounds could and would kill him. This person was clearly deranged or filled with some sort of guilt and wanted some sort of personal justice without truly committing the act of suicide.

As for the rest of your post, my friend, I’ll have to disagree with you:

Hmm. The interesting thing I’d like to point out is that the only people who will register their guns or who will use these gun check systems are legally owning citizens. After all, only lawful citizens can use the system. Criminals are not allowed to own or purchase weaponry under federal law, so why should a criminal care if their gun is legal or illegal? In fact, it would put to logic that tighter control laws would press a criminal to find a way to obtain a legally obtained weapon (theft) and use it in an illegal practice just to implicate someone else because we would have “no way” for that criminal to obtain that weapon otherwise. Hmm. Now, perhaps in a twisted way that could find a pattern or path closer to the criminal, unless the investigating source was either lazy or unjust and decided that the person who owned the weapon must have done it since their fingerprints are all over it. But then again, we don’t have laziness or misguided or even underhanded people on any police force anywhere, right? Not at all.

Before I say much further, there are–erm–interesting people out there who are obsessed with how much weaponry they have. This is a hobby. This, for the most part and in an abstract, is no different than collecting coins to them. Yes, there are always exceptions and yes, there are always fanatics and psychopaths, but why punish the 99% of the populace who aren’t crazy for the 1% who are? Should we all wear straight jackets and take happy pills? At the clearest, it is a violation of our CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT: our freedom to Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness.

The NRA does have some people that feel the control-laws are out to tally how much a person owns…and think about it. During WWII, many of our guns were commandeered, sent overseas to the British and never sent back; all to help them when their own gun laws were so laborious they didn’t have an ounce of metal to fight with (and I do mean their ARMY not civilians). There are also people well placed in government that would love to know exactly how many weapons are out there for an opposite reason: how much of an informal standing army America has. Out of hunters alone, in one state alone, we have more protection than any other country in the world. This is why no one invades this country. We fight amongst ourselves over our freedoms because we have the right to and because we have little else more important to fight over.

The NRA also holds the position that the weapon and ammunition laws will only control the lawful. It only hurts law abiding citizens and weakens the defense of the populace, placing more strain on a reactive civil service, such as the police, whose hands are tied at proactively protecting us during criminal activity. They cannot do a THING until a crime has occurred unless it is a threat to our nation. If it’s personal, you’re on your own. Do you want someone breaking into your home and systematically killing your family before your eyes while the police have to take entire minutes to get to your home? Or would you rather shoot the bastard? And keep in mind, a bullet is much faster than the swing of a baseball bat, and it’s not pointed at you, it’s pointed at your child. Think of it in that regard and then tell me you want to control what kind of and how many weapons I have. Also think on this: the control laws don’t only affect *them*, they affect all of us. Once started, it’ll be a snowball fight as to who can get the most earmarks on THAT bill and I promise you, no one will be there to read them all until it’s well passed and someone’s kid is hurt because they weren’t *allowed* to own a weapon. It will come to that.

I will leave off that we have the freedom to differ, the freedom to have and have not, the freedom for me to be my way and you to be yours…all because of our Constitution, our Declaration of Independence and a little war fought over it with Guns. By farmers and weavers and tanners and the like that owned guns of their own that were not issued by a government and were not controlled by anyone but themselves.

4 Responses to “More Gun Rhetoric”

  1. dante. January 26, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    Hey there!

    Thanks for taking the time to orchestrate such an amazing response to Monday’s post!

    I have to say first and foremost, that I love the guns! I don’t personally own any (not for any reason other than financial), but as a military servicemember I’ve had my fair share of weapons training and learning a new weapon and/or weapons system remains one of my favorite things to do.

    I value our citizens’ right to bear arms, and I believe this right is placed within our founding document for a reason.

    However, I can honestly say there are quite a few loopholes within our current legal weapons purchasing system that need to be addressed. The issues of illegally purchased weapons (i.e. black market) and legally purchased are separate and should be handled as such.

    Regarding legally purchased weapons, we already have a background check system in place. However, that system noticeably has flaws thus, creating the problem where sometimes people are capable of purchasing weapons at legal dealers without having to go through the background check process. This isn’t okay, and should be fixed. Everyone who wishes to legally purchase a weapon should have to go through the same background check and registration process. In addition, federal agencies should be actively working to ensure the registry of those whom are not legally capable of purchasing weapons is up to date and in the hands of those whom need to use it.

    Those are the only two points I was trying to make. I most certainly am not an advocate for the type of so-called “gun control” that would leave our citizens incapable of defending themselves against any threat foreign or domestic ;)

    • denagray January 27, 2011 at 11:12 am #

      Okay, I will concede that the NICS system is sorely lacking and background checks are easily circumvented. In fact, it’s rather easy to fore-go the system all together and make a straw purchase as long as it’s listed as a “gift” and it’s within certain states. So I will concede that point. I also concede that Legally obtained and Illegally obtained methods are two different issues when addressed in this manner. I seem to have a habit of lumping them, for many of the reasons I’ve listed in my post (ie, criminals don’t care if there’s a law in place so why restrict the lawful)

      ***BUT***

      I have two things that I believe would put restraints on my own thesis there.

      1) Psychiatric background. If someone has a history of being treated for mental illness, no state will allow them to purchase a weapon, but the background check system doesn’t always cover this so I accede to you on this point and

      2) Veterans suffering certain advanced levels of recorded PTSD under current federal law (correct me if I’m wrong) are also not allowed to purchase or own weaponry of any kind. This is something I have heard very many mixed reviews on quite a few different sides.

      One veteran was completely offended, feeling he should be able to retain his right to bear arms and right to continue to protect this country (should martial law ever be invoked), and I’ve heard a select few gun shop owners will turn the other cheek during such a purchase, though I think that dangerous. Not only to their FFL license but to the public at large. I see so very many facets to this exception of my argument it’s difficult to resign myself.

      One thing you’d said on your blog about the M4, I *do* find it shocking how easy it is to obtain class 3 weapons in many states, though Georgia is one of the difficult ones (for the moment. I will say our gun laws seem to change by the month)

      I think it would solve a lot of issues if we simply were required training before we were able to purchase each class of weapon (simple safety before revolver, advanced before semi-auto pistol, etc.) It would be interesting to see what would happen if a requirement to get a class 3 license was to enlist for 2 years. ^_^

    • denagray January 27, 2011 at 11:13 am #

      Ah, and most of my gun control response was to the person who was addressing the NRA “nut jobs” in your comments. Not to you. I should have clarified (apologies!)

      • dante. January 27, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

        Oh no … no apologies needed! I always enjoy when people feel comfortable to state their opinions on any bog post! I hope you continue to stop by because I do enjoy your input.

        I especially liked the comment you left on the “i’m sorry, is my child’s gender an issue?” post — PRICELESS! *lol*

        Thanks for the support!

Leave a Reply

