Well, hello!

3 Jan

I’ve not seen you in a while!  I’ve missed you :)  Maybe this year will be better.  My resolution this year was to create an author’s platform, so we’ll just see about that, eh?

To start the year off, I’m working on Fanfiction (as always), specifically, Harry Potter fanfiction.  Even more specifically, HGSS.  If you’re interested, it’s named Lioness Loricatus:

5. Lioness Loricatus
2yrs P/W and Hermione’s found Severus in a fake psychiatric hospital with no memory and no magic. He awakens and latches onto her as the connection to his past and his redemption. SS/HG, EWE. Ch.9 fixed.
Harry Potter – Fiction Rated: M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Romance – Chapters: 10 – Words: 62026 – Reviews: 148 – Updated: 11-16-11 – Published: 4-23-11

So, as you can see, 62k is nothing to shake a stick at, and I’m really only about halfway done.  148 very kind reviews is also pretty damned good for a half-done fic in 10 chapters.  I’ve been exploring an entirely different writing style for myself with this fic and it’s really working for me.  I can’t seem to go wrong with it, except that I don’t have enough hours in the day and sometimes I lose inspiration for some of the darker scenes.  Music is a great help to me and if you follow me on twitter (denagraysf) you’ll get a post on my selections, probably what I’m picking out for the next chapter.  Sometimes I even post my playlists online at iTunes.

I had been building up a footnote/discussion forum at ff.net, but I’m thinking of moving it here.  Still thinking on that. ;)  If I do, it will involve my music, art, youtube, literary, and pop culture references, as well as discussing in depth the ‘why’ of certain word selections or scene selections.  Also reference/research material, such as the month-long research I did for the chess game I had between Snape and Ron.  No random chess game for me, nosirree!  I researched the names of the moves, what they meant, how the impacted the game, and integrated it with conversation, chatter and insults!  I may not have been 100% successful, but I’m rather smugly pleased with the result XD

Wish me luck and hopefully I’ll see you really really soon!

xoxo Dena

Enchanted

5 Responses to “Well, hello!”

  1. Jeyna Grace January 3, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    WordPress is a good place to move your writing to, trust me.

    • denagray January 3, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

      Is there a particular reason? I’ve never had a problem with ff.net…

      • Jeyna Grace January 3, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

        well, the admins on ff.net arent very friendly. I had an occasion where they just completely shot down my idea, not because of any grammar mistakes, but because the admin didnt like it at all. Apparently, the character i was writing about, based on my perception, was not the same as hers, so she didnt like it. After that, i quit and joined wordpress… and ta da! so many nice ppl here supporting my works.

      • denagray January 3, 2012 at 11:35 pm #

        Fascinating. I’ll consider it. The main reason I’ve kept my works on ff.net and fp.net is due to the anti-plagiarism controls and rights they keep in effect there. Especially on the fp.net for original works, however I am loathe to put anything original in full online. Thank you for the warning. I’ve taken a peek at your site and it looks well-organized and interesting. I’ll be lurking over there shortly ;)

  2. Gabrielle January 3, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    Nice to know :) Good luck with wirte

Leave a Reply

