Embarkation to Resolute Madness

12 Jan

After intense consideration, review, and…well…just plain thinking, I’ve come to the conclusion that I should save my larger (and mostly finished) work for later in my writing *ahem* career.  It’s too big, too epic, too involved and too underdeveloped to fuss with while I’m working a full time job.  I’ve got roughly 120k words but with the advent of my evolved writing style over the past year this MS has languished, I think the story could easily graduate into WORLDS.  We’re talking Lackey-sized!

LOL I make it sound like ordering fast food: Yes I’d like a science fiction/fantasy to-go with a side of romance and drama.  Yes, make it Lackey-sized!

In case you’re not in on the reference, I’m referring to Mercedes Lackey, an extremely prolific author of fantasy novels.  She’s not Danielle Steele (hell, DS isn’t DS) or Nora Roberts, but she writes stories so full of life and living it’s like chewing on steak.  ;) I did an article on that a rather long time ago.  Writing like steak or pudding?

Back to my topic, I therefore have decided that until I have established myself a bit more, I need to put this big baby down and work on getting smaller, lighter, faster things out.

And here’s the most difficult decision a modern writer has to make:  Where?

Publishing House?  Magazine?  Trade Journal?  Ebooks?  …or…Self Publishing.

Self Publishing…

In the writer’s world, it has carried such a stigma.  One uses it in the same breath as ‘has-been’ or ‘wanna-be’, perhaps even going so far as to call it Vanity Press.  Yes, that is a technical phrase: Vanity Press.  You can assume what it means from the title alone, BUT!

Think about this:

JRR Tolkien was Self Published because he was laughed out of every Publishing House.   To this day, his family apparently (and correct me if I’m wrong) owns the rights to his written works.  Imagine that!  If he’d stuck with only working through Publishing Houses, we’d never have known The Hobbit or Lord of the Rings.  AND by that time, he was already well known and accomplished, published within academia and literature!  So much for reputation preceding you!

I give you this as well, and I tend to use him because he IS the American Dream (let’s face it):

George Lucas.  A small budget film that had to borrow cameras and spray paint shoes and potatoes, that had such limited resources, he and his team had to invent many of them on site so they didn’t have to pay money they didn’t have.  Yes, I’m talking about Star Wars in 1977.  They taped reflective tape on the floor and tracked a camera backwards to film what is probably one of the most recognized and iconic movie openings of all time.  Yes, he was paying homage to scifi serials, but he turned it into a trademark, a brand.  No one would give him the money to produce this movie, so he paid for it himself!  He’d already created American Graffiti to a huge success!

There is something to be said for the fact that they tried the traditional channels first, failed and became determined that their dreams should become reality regardless.  And yes, they are exceptions.  There are always exceptions.  But MY GOD what exceptions!

With these amazing examples in mind, you would think I have an idea of the direction I’m going, right?  Well, sort of.  I think I will go the way of self -publication, but I haven’t a CLUE what I want to write yet.  Not working on Crescendo Oronis kind of blew my mind over the past few days, so I’ve been desperately trying to decide if I should write for what I want, or write for what I think the market wants.  Self-publishing makes that decision hard.  With a Publishing House, if you don’t have a market, you don’t get published, right?  At least, that’s what I’ve been led to believe.  I’m sure, again, there are exceptions.

Therefore, I think I’ll have a little fun.  There are about thirty of you out there now, so I think I’ll put up a poll of different story ideas that I want to attack.  Let’s be a little democratic, since I want so desperately to ignore what’s going on in THAT arena ;)

As always, thank you for letting me rant and thank you for reading! xoxo Dena

 

Leave a Reply

