I’ve got thoughts galore, but nothing to say…so I bring you Asparagus!

19 Jan

I’ve been thinking about the storyline I hinted at in my previous post, writing my outline, detailing it, getting the ideas down.  This is the first time that I’ve been successful at writing an outline for a story, you know.  I usually wing it (NO! you gasp-you could never tell!) LOL

Usually, when I get in this kind of thought process (creation) my mind starts creating in other ways as well (ie: recipes!) SO: I bring you a recipe I made last night when I couldn’t find a satisfactory Asparagus soup one online.

Honestly, not even Emeril or Food Network, or even (shudder) Paula.  Nobody had an Asparagus soup recipe I felt was truly living up to the yumminess of that vegetable.  So I tried my own.  I think I did well, and I think I can improve, so here you go with the recipe and my thoughts on improving it in the future:

Dena’s Asparagus Soup:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 asparagus, cut into 3/4″ pieces

1 tbsp salt
1/4 c. butter
2 cloves garlic
handful fresh chard, chopped
handful fresh chives, chopped
1/2 tsp. honey
1 tbsp peanut oil
one 3″slice unsulfured, unsmoked bacon
3/4 c. honut nut cream cheese (or just plain cream cheese)
2-3 c.water
1 tbsp. cracked pepper

Take the first 9 ingredients and sautee them in a stock pot until the chard wilts really well, just before the butter and oil start to dry out.  Add in the water and bring to a simmer.  Add in the cream cheese and stir A LOT.  Once warmed again, add in the pepper.  You should have a creamy, slightly watery looking soup with green/oily floaties.  (yum, right? lol)  Bring to a boil, then drop down to a simmer, stirring occasionally to keep from sticking/burning at the bottom of the pan.  This yielded about four bowls of soup for me, and was ready in about 30-45 mins.  I actually cooked it for another 45 mins to reduce it a bit further, but it wasn’t necessary.  It tasted the same after 30 mins as it did after an hour and a half, just the asparagus was softer.  You choose.  I was waiting on my dinner partner ;)

Things I think I could have done to make it better: use half-half to cut the water, add mushrooms, use more butter to cut the peanut oil, smaller garlic (I didn’t use a mincer, I just cut it up by hand and it was making things a bit spicy), no nuts-or walnuts instead of pecans, using goat cheese instead of cream cheese, add parmesan.

So, what do you think? :)

Leave a Reply

