Blaspheming and Pontification over a Stubbed Toe

24 Jan

First, I’d like to point out that my computer did not recognize “pontification” as an actual word.  How sad.  Just in case, I checked the good ole’ http://www.m-w.com and it was there, all right.  *sigh*

We live in a  world where “friended” is more easily recognized as a word than “pontification”.  We also live in a world where I, immediately upon stubbing my toe as I miss a stair tread, burst into blasphemous phrases the likes of which make my dogs cringe in fear.  Why?

We’re so accustomed to crude language and elementary vocabulary, we’re almost offended when someone reaches above and uses that great vast welling abyssal of lexicon available to us.  Many times I find people will get angry with me for what I think are simple or common words (ie: gregarious, dismal, droll, cacophony) and will then resort to cursing or blaspheming to “get the upper hand”, so to speak.

Isn’t that interesting?  That the use of coarse and crude language instills power in us, some sort of control over the situation…  Why would my first instinct be screaming “Son of a Fuck” upon stubbing my toe (amongst other, more damning things, I assure you) instead of just “Ow” or “Well that was stupid of me”?  Why?  I lost control over my body for a split second and therefore felt the need to scream expletives to the air – not another soul around but me and my pets, and quite possibly eavesdropping neighbors.  No one saw me (of any consequence).  It hurt like hell, I’ll admit it, but that’s not why I yelled.  I’ve been hurt worse and not admitted a sound, so it wasn’t the pain.  Perhaps it was the emotional equivalent, needing to be released, something like a pressure valve?

Do we therefore have an emotional connection to physical pain that has to be released before we can resolve the physical pain?  Yelling, crying, laughing, fainting…

It certainly makes me wonder about the mysterious mechanics God built in these bodies.  Just how intertwined are our physical nerves with our emotional brain centers?  I’ve heard many stories of a good deep tissue massage or accupuncture session creating amazing emotional reactions in the client, most of which are from past, blocked, or stored emotions (or at least, that’s the theory I’ve been told).

So my next conclusion would be that emotions are much less ephemeral than I originally thought.  They must therefore be something rather concrete, physical and measurable.  If they are so physically tied to the body and its reactions (think about how tied up you can get with stressors affecting you) then emotion simply CAN’T be intangible.

I wonder if, somewhere, there’s some group of people in a lab working on this, trying to quantify and measure these things.  I know this can’t be an original thought ;)  Besides, they’ve been putting nodes to people’s sleeping heads to try and capture DREAMS for decades, if not longer.  That’s not much more different.

And then there’s always the Wachowski brothers…  ;)

Leave a Reply

